President's Message

Welcoming Our 2024 Board Members

On Saturday, Jan. 20, I had the great pleasure of presiding over HASC’s 2024 board installation dinner. This annual event holds a special place in the heart of HASC tradition, and I always appreciate the opportunity to acknowledge both our past and future hospital leadership.

As we face yet another challenging year, I was heartened to see many familiar faces of hospital leaders who remain staunchly resilient and committed to continually improving their operations and the health of their communities.

I emphasize resilience and commitment because these qualities will be crucial as we navigate uncertainty and increase our local advocacy in the coming months. Our hospitals face ongoing opposition and lack of support from various quarters, and we’re hard at work sharpening our strategies to address these challenges effectively. But with dedicated, remarkable health care leaders like these who head our board year after year, I have no doubt we’ll weather the storm and continue advancing the high-quality, accessible care that Southern Californians need and deserve.

HASC is grateful to our outgoing chair, Lori Morgan, MD, and our 2023 board members for leading the charge this past year. Many thanks to each of you for your dedication to advancing health care for patients across our region and for your commitment to HASC. Your willingness to serve has brought us far and paved the way for those who will take us forward.

Please join me in warmly welcoming our incoming chair, Johnese Spisso, president, UCLA Health, and CEO, UCLA Hospital System, and our 2024 board members (see below). As with their predecessors, I’m deeply confident these outstanding leaders will help HASC make tremendous strides in our journey toward a better health care environment for our communities.

Take care and stay safe,

George G.

HASC 2024 Board of Directors

Executive Committee

  • Chair: Johnese Spisso, President, UCLA Health/CEO, UCLA Hospital System
  • Chair-elect: Keith Hobbs, President/CEO, Torrance Memorial Medical Center
  • Immediate Past Chair: Lori Morgan, MD, President/CEO, Huntington Health
  • President: George Greene, President/CEO, Hospital Association of Southern California
  • Treasurer: Elaine Batchlor, MD, Chief Executive Officer, MLK Community Healthcare
  • Secretary: Jim West, President/CEO, PIH Health
  • Ex-officio Member: Carmela Coyle, President/CEO, California Hospital Association

Members at Large

  • John Chapman, President/CEO, San Antonio Regional Hospital
  • Alina Moran, MPA, President, California Hospital Medical Center
  • John Raffoul, President, Adventist Health White Memorial
  • Paul Viviano, President/CEO, Children’s Hospital Los Angeles

Multi-hospital System Representatives

  • Dan Brothman, Chief Executive Officer, Huntington Beach Hospital, Prime Healthcare
  • Blair Kent, Executive Vice President/CEO, Long Beach Medical Center, MemorialCare Health
  • Chad Lefteris, Chief Executive Officer, UCI Health
  • Linda Marsh, Senior Executive Vice President, AHMC Healthcare Inc.
  • Lesley McKendrick, Senior Vice President, Operations/Chief Operating Officer, Kaiser Permanente Southern California Region
  • Glenn Raup, Chief Executive Officer, Anaheim Community Hospital, Signature Healthcare
  • Fred Valtairo, Chief Executive Officer, Placentia-Linda Hospital, Tenet Health
  • Darlene Wetton, Chief Executive Officer, Temecula Valley Hospital, Universal Health Services, Inc.

Special Constituent Representatives

  • ACHE of Southern California: Clare Lee, Vice President, Professional/Support Services, Cedars-Sinai
  • Behavioral Health Services: Phil Wong, Chief Executive Officer, Gateways Hospital and Mental Health Center
  • Patient Care Administration: Ramona Pratt, Chief Nursing Officer, PIH Health Whittier Hospital
  • Post-acute Care: Kelly Linden, President/CEO, Casa Colina Hospital and Centers for Healthcare

Area Representatives

Northern and Valley Area

  • Chair: Bernie Klein, MD, Chief Executive, Providence Holy Cross Medical Center
  • Armand Dorian, MD, Chief Executive Officer, USC Verdugo Hills Hospital
  • Edward Mirzabegian, Chief Executive Officer, Antelope Valley Medical Center
  • Roger Sharma, President/CEO, Emanate Health
  • Dale Surowitz, President/CEO, Joyce Eisenberg Keefer Medical Center

Coastal Harbor Area

  • Joe Avelino, Chief Executive Officer, College Medical Center
  • Carolyn Caldwell, Chief Executive Officer, St. Mary Medical Center Long Beach
  • Bryan Croft, Executive Vice President/Chief Operating Officer, Cedars-Sinai Marina Del Rey Hospital
  • Jorge Orozco, Chief Executive Officer, Los Angeles General Medical Center
  • Jim West, President/CEO, PIH Health Downey

Inland Area

  • Chair: John Chapman, President/CEO, San Antonio Regional Hospital
  • Michele Finney, Chief Executive Officer, Desert Regional Medical Center
  • Jared Giles, Chief Executive Officer, Rancho Springs Hospital
  • Jim Holmes, President/CEO, Redlands Community Hospital

Orange County Area

  • Chair: Robert Braithwaite, President/CEO, Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian
  • Payman Roshan, Senior Vice President, Area Manager, Kaiser Permanente Anaheim Medical Center
  • Seth Teigen, Chief Executive, Providence Mission Hospital

Santa Barbara Area

  • Chair: Steve Popkin, Chief Executive Officer, Lompoc Valley Medical Center

Ventura Area

  • Chair: Mick Zdeblick, President/CEO, Community Memorial Hospital